# Council – 23<sup>rd</sup> May 2022

### Formation of political groups

### 1. Summary of report

This report informs the Council of the composition of political groups making up the Council. The report explains the political balance on Council Committees consistent with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended).

#### 2. Recommendations

That the Council notes the receipt of returns from political groups.

### 3. Political Groups

- 3.1 Returns have been received in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations, 1990 (as amended) as follows:
  - (a) **Conservative Group** (38)

Group Leader:	Councillor M. Bird
Deputy Leader:	Councillor A. Andrew

Councillor G. Ali Councillor B. Allen Councillor B. Bains Councillor G. Clarke Councillor S. Cooper Councillor S. Elson Councillor K. Ferguson Councillor G. Flint Councillor M. Follows Councillor N. Gandham Councillor A. Garcha Councillor A. Harris Councillor L. Harrison Councillor A. Hicken Councillor A. Hussain Councillor I. Hussain Councillor S. Johal Councillor P. Kaur Councillor R. Larden Councillor E. Lee Councillor R. Martin

Councillor K. Murphy Councillor J. Murray Councillor K. Pedley Councillor G. Perry Councillor W. Rasab Councillor L. Rattigan Councillor S. Samra Councillor S. Samra Councillor K. Sears Councillor G. S. Sohal Councillor G. S. Sohal Councillor C. Statham Councillor M. Statham Councillor C. Towe Councillor V. Waters Councillor J. Whitehouse Councillor T. Wilson

# (b) Labour Group (20)

Group Leader:	Councillor A. Nawaz
Deputy Leader:	Councillor K. Hussain
	Councillor H. Bashir Councillor C. Bott Councillor P. Bott Councillor R. Burley Councillor S. Cheema Councillor S. Cheema Councillor C. Creaney Councillor S. Ditta Councillor N. Gultasib Councillor N. Gultasib Councillor S. Hussain Councillor S. Hussain Councillor F. Mazhar Councillor F. Mazhar Councillor R. Mehmi Councillor S. Nasreen Councillor A. Nazir Councillor A. Underhill Councillor R. Worrall Councillor A. Young

#### Ratio for allocation of Committee seats

- 4. The allocation of Council Committee places must be made in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act, 1989. Achieving political balance is a complex process which requires a compromise to be made between sets of calculations. This can result in marginal differences which may be significant to Committee representation of individual political groups. The required "balance" has to be achieved by the Council allocating seats on individual Committees to properly constituted political groups based on the size of each group in relation to the size of the Council and so far as is reasonably practicable at the same time the total number of seats allocated to each group across all Committees must be in the same proportion.
- 5. These calculations are rarely exact, but in seeking to ensure that all political groups are dealt with fairly, this report implements the requirements of the relevant legislation.
- 6. The Council is open to legal challenge if it was thought not to have used its best endeavours to achieve "so far as reasonably practicable" a position where the allocation of seats reflects the political make-up of the Council. The final decision necessary to achieve political balance lies with the Council and officers have worked to bring forward to Council clear recommendations to achieve the intentions of the legislation.
- 7. On the basis of the political groups the allocation of seats on Committees must be calculated in the ratio of 38: 20: 1:1 reflecting the size of the groups on the Council.
- 8. The declared political groups have been asked for nominations to the allocated places in accordance with their numerical strength as recorded in their returns to the Chief Executive.

#### Background papers

Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended) Papers returned by Group Leaders to the Chief Executive May 2022.

Jatesa Signed:

Chief Executive

Date: 18<sup>th</sup> May 2022