Adjourned Council - 22nd May 2019

Formation of political groups

1. Summary of report

This report informs the Council of the composition of political groups making up the Council. The report explains the political balance on Council Committees consistent with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended).

2. Recommendations

That the Council notes the receipt of returns from political groups.

3. Political Groups

3.1 Returns have been received in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations, 1990 (as amended) as follows:

(a) Conservative Group (32)

Group Leader: Councillor M.A. Bird Deputy Leader: Councillor A. Andrew

Councillor G. Ali
Councillor B. Allen
Councillor O. Butler
Councillor B. Chattha
Councillor G. Clarke
Councillor S.R. Craddock
Councillor S.J. Cooper
Councillor B.A. Douglas Ma

Councillor B.A. Douglas-Maul

Councillor K. Ferguson
Councillor M. Follows
Councillor A.D. Harris
Councillor L.A. Harrison
Councillor A.J. Hicken
Councillor S. Johal
Councillor P. Kaur
Councillor M. Longhi
Councillor R.A. Martin
Councillor J. Murray
Councillor S.L. Neville
Councillor G. Perry
Councillor L. Rattigan

Councillor W. Rasab

Councillor G. Singh Sohal

Councillor G. Singh Sona Councillor S. Samra Councillor K. Sears Councillor C.A. Statham Councillor M.A. Statham Councillor C.D.D. Towe Councillor V.J. Waters Councillor T. S. Wilson

(b) Labour Group (26)

Group Leader: Councillor A. Nawaz
Deputy Leader: Councillor K. Hussain

Councillor H. Bashir Councillor C. Bott Councillor P. Bott Councillor M.R. Burley Councillor D. Coughlan Councillor S.P. Coughlan Councillor C.U. Creaney

Councillor S. Ditta

Councillor J. Fitzpatrick Councillor N. Gultasib Councillor D. James Councillor L. Jeavons Councillor T. Jukes Councillor F. Mazhar Councillor S. Nasreen Councillor A. Nazir Councillor M. Nazir

Councillor I.C. Robertson Councillor H.S. Sarohi Councillor A. Underhill Councillor S. Wade Councillor M. Ward Councillor R.V. Worrall Councillor P.A. Young

(c) Liberal Democrat Group (2)

Group Leader: Councillor I. Shires
Deputy Leader: Councillor D.J. Barker

Ratio for allocation of Committee seats

- 4. The allocation of Council Committee places must be made in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act, 1989. Achieving political balance is a complex process which requires a compromise to be made between sets of calculations. This can result in marginal differences which may be significant to Committee representation of individual political groups. The required "balance" has to be achieved by the Council allocating seats on individual Committees to properly constituted political groups based on the size of each group in relation to the size of the Council and so far as is reasonably practicable at the same time the total number of seats allocated to each group across all Committees must be in the same proportion.
- 5. These calculations are rarely exact, but in seeking to ensure that all political groups are dealt with fairly, this report implements the requirements of the relevant legislation.
- 6. The Council is open to legal challenge if it was thought not to have used its best endeavours to achieve "so far as reasonably practicable" a position where the allocation of seats reflects the political make-up of the Council. The final decision necessary to achieve political balance lies with the Council and officers have worked to bring forward to Council clear recommendations to achieve the intentions of the legislation.
- 7. On the basis of the political groups the allocation of seats on Committees must be calculated in the ratio of 32: 26: 2: reflecting the size of the groups on the Council.
- 8. The declared political groups have been asked for nominations to the allocated places in accordance with their numerical strength as recorded in their returns to the Chief Executive.

Background papers

Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended) Papers returned by Group Leaders to the Chief Executive May 2019.

Signed:

Chief Executive

Date: 22nd May 2019