

A.D. Harris

E.A. Hazell

E.F. Hughes

A. Hicken

L.A. Harrison D.T. Hazell

Minutes of the **EXTRA-ORDINARY MEETING** of the Council of the Walsall Metropolitan Borough held on **Monday 7**<sup>th</sup> **March 2016 at 6.00 pm** at the Council House.

## **Present**

# Councillor A. Underhill (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillor A. Ondernill (Mayor) in the Chair							
Councill	or A. Underhill (Mayor)	Councillo	Councillor K. Hussain				
"	K. Phillips (Deputy Mayor)	"	D. James				
"	A.J.A. Andrew	"	C. Jones				
u	D.A. Anson	u	T.J. Jukes				
"	M. Arif	"	A. Kudhail				
"	O.D. Bennett	u	M. Longhi				
"	M.A. Bird	u	Mrs. R.A. Martin				
"	C. Bott	u	J. Murray				
"	P. Bott	u	A.A. Nawaz				
"	R. Burley	££	M. Nazir				
"	K. Chambers	££	L.J. Rattigan				
"	A.G. Clarke	££	I.C. Robertson				
"	C.E. Clews	u u	J. Rochelle				
"	S.J. Cooper	££	E.B. Russell				
"	D. Coughlan	££	H.S. Sarohi				
"	S.P. Coughlan	££	K. Sears				
"	S.R. Craddock	££	Mrs. D.A. Shires				
"	A. Ditta	££	I. Shires				
"	B.A. Douglas-Maul	££	P.E. Smith				
"	K. Ferguson	££	G.S. Sohal				
cc .	M. Follows	tt	C.D.D. Towe				
cc .	J. Fitzpatrick	tt	S. Wade				
· ·	S.F. Fitzpatrick	££	P. Washbrook				

F.J. Westley V. Whyte

T.S. Wilson

R.V. Worrall

A. Young

### 104. Apologies

Apologies for non-attendance were submitted on behalf of Councillors Perry, Creaney and Jeavons.

#### 105. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

## 106. Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 (as amended)

There were no items to be considered in private session.

# 107. A combined authority for the West Midlands

The report to Cabinet on 7<sup>th</sup> March 2016 was submitted.

A copy of the recommendation of Cabinet from that meeting was circulated around the Council Chamber.

It was **moved** by Councillor Bird and seconded by Councillor Andrew:

That Council, as a Constituent Member of the West Midlands Combined Authority, consent to the draft Order being submitted to government and note the draft Constitution.

On being put to the vote the motion was declared carried – the voting at the request of several members of the Council being recorded as follows:

For the motion – 46 members		Against the motion - 6 members		Abstained - 5 members	
Cllr:	Bird S. Coughlan I. Shires Andrew Arif Bennett Burley Chambers Clews Cooper D. Coughlan Ditta Douglas-Maul J. Fitzpatrick	Cllr:	E. Hazell C. Bott P. Bott Craddock D. Hazell Smith	Cllr:	Anson Clarke Ferguson Longhi Sears

S. Fitzpatrick

Follows

Harris

Harrison

Hicken

Hughes

Hussain

**James** 

Jones

Jukes

Kudhail

Martin

Murray

Nawaz

Nazir

**Phillips** 

Rattigan

Robertson

Rochelle

Russell

Sarohi

D. Shires

Sohal

Towe

Underhill

Wade

Washbrook

Westley

Whyte

Wilson

Worrall

Young

and it was:

## Resolved

That Council, as a Constituent Member of the West Midlands Combined Authority, consent to the draft Order being submitted to government and note the draft Constitution.

The meeting terminated at 6.53 pm