# LEA GOVERNOR APPOINTMENT PANEL

### Tuesday, 26 September, 2006 at 5.30 p.m.

In a Conference Room at the Council House, Walsall

#### Present

Councillor Eddie Hughes (Chairman) Councillor Mohammad Yasin (Vice-Chairman) Councillor Dennis Anson

### 155/06 Apologies

Apologies for non-attendance were received from Councillors Mrs. Doreen Shires and Chris Towe.

### 156/06 Minutes

#### Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting held on 28 June 2006, a copy having already been circulated to Members be approved, subject to the following amendment to minute no 148/06:-

"An apology for absence was received from Councillor Anson".

## 157/06 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 158/06 **Deputations and Petitions**

There were no deputations received or petitions submitted.

#### 159/06 Late Items

There were no late items.

### 160/06 Local Government (Access to Information) Act, 1985 (as amended)

That the public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the item set out in the private part of the agenda for the reasons set out therein and by reason of Section 100A of the Local Government Act, 1972.

### **Non Executive Functions**

### 161/06 Appointment of Local Education Authority (LEA) Governors

The report of the Governor Support Manager – Education Walsall was submitted:-

(see annexed)

#### Resolved

(1) That the persons identified below be nominated as representatives of the Local Education Authority for the schools set out for the periods stated:-

<u>School</u>	Name	Term of Office
Lindens Primary School	Lynda Myatt	From 26 September 2006 to 25 September 2010
St. Thomas More Catholic School Business and Enterprise College	Mr. Steve Onions	From 26 September 2006 to 25 September 2010
Bentley West School	Jaswant Bhatia	From 26 September 2006 to 25 September 2010
Joseph Leckie Community Technology College	Colin Beilby	From 26 September 2006 to 25 September 2010

Fibbersley Park Primary School (1) Mrs. V. Birch

(2) Councillor S.

- Coughlan
- (3) Councillor C. Creaney
- ) From 1 October ) - 2006 to 30
- ) September 201

)

)

)

- (4) Ms. S.
  - Wedgewood
- September 2010
- (2) That the under-mentioned vacancies stand deferred:-

Lindens Primary School County Bridge Primary School Sandbank Nursery School St. Mary of the Angels Catholic Primary School Brownhills Community Technology College Bentley West School Pinfold Street JMI School Barr Beacon Language College Edgar Stammers Primary School Castlefort JMI School Sneyd Community School St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Technology College St. John's C of E Primary School Sunshine Infant and Nursery School

# **Termination of Meeting**

There being no further business, the meeting terminated at 5.50 p.m.

Chairman: .....

Date: .....