

Minutes of the EXTRA-ORDINARY MEETING of the Council of the Walsall Metropolitan Borough held on Monday 19th October 2015 at 6.00 p.m. at the Council House.

Present

Councillor A. Underhill (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillor K. Phillips (Deputy Mayor)

- " A.J.A. Andrew " D.A. Anson " M. Arif " O.D. Bennett " M.A. Bird " C. Bott " P. Bott " R. Burley " A.G. Clarke " C.E. Clews " S.J. Cooper " S.R. Craddock " A. Ditta " B.A. Douglas-Maul
- " K. Ferguson
- " M. Follows
- " J. Fitzpatrick
- " S.F. Fitzpatrick
- " A.D. Harris
- " L.A. Harrison
- " D.T. Hazell
- " E.A. Hazell
- " A. Hicken
- " E.F. Hughes
- " K. Hussain

Councillor D. James

"	L.D. Jeavons
"	C. Jones
"	A. Kudhail
"	Mrs. R.A. Martin
"	J. Murray
"	A.A. Nawaz
"	G. Perry
"	L.J. Rattigan
"	I.C. Robertson
"	J. Rochelle
"	E.B. Russell
"	H.S. Sarohi
"	K. Sears
"	Mrs. D.A. Shires
"	I. Shires
"	P.E. Smith
"	G.S. Sohal
"	C.D.D. Towe
"	S. Wade
"	P. Washbrook
"	F.J. Westley
"	V. Whyte
"	T.S. Wilson
"	R.V. Worrall
"	A. Young

55. Apologies

Apologies for non-attendance were submitted on behalf of Councillors Chambers, D. Coughlan, S. Coughlan, Jukes and Nazir.

56. Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 (as amended)

There were no items to be considered in private session.

57. Suspension of Council procedure rules

It was **moved** by Councillor I. Shires and duly seconded:

That Council procedure rule 15.5 "When a member may speak again" be suspended for the duration of the meeting.

On being put to the vote the motion was declared lost.

58. A combined authority for the West Midlands

The report to Cabinet on 19th October 2015 was submitted.

A copy of the recommendation of Cabinet from that meeting was circulated around the Council Chamber.

It was **moved** by Councillor Bird and seconded by Councillor Andrew:

That the final 'Governance Review' and 'Scheme' for the West Midlands Combined Authority be approved and submitted to the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government; confirming that Walsall Council will join the West Midlands Combined Authority as a 'Constituent Member'.

On being put to the vote the motion was declared carried – the voting at the request of several members of the Council being recorded as follows:

For the motion –		Against the motion -		Abstained -	
43 members		6 members		4 members	
Cllr:	Bird I. Shires Andrew Arif Bennett Burley Clews Cooper	Cllr:	E. Hazell C. Bott P. Bott Craddock D. Hazell Smith	Cllr:	Anson Clarke Ferguson Sears

Ditta Douglas-Maul J. Fitzpatrick S. Fitzpatrick Follows Harris Harrison Hicken Hughes Hussain James Jeavons Jones Kudhail Martin Murray Nawaz Perry Phillips Rattigan Robertson Rochelle Russell Sarohi D. Shires Sohal Towe Underhill Wade Washbrook Westley Whyte Wilson Worrall Young

and it was:

Resolved

That the final 'Governance Review' and 'Scheme' for the West Midlands Combined Authority be approved and submitted to the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government; confirming that Walsall Council will join the West Midlands Combined Authority as a 'Constituent Member'.

The meeting terminated at 7.15 p.m.