LEA GOVERNOR APPOINTMENT PANEL

Wednesday 27 June 2007 at 5.30 p.m.

In a Conference Room at the Council House, Walsall

Present

Councillor Mohammad Yasin (Chairman) Councillor Michael Flower (Vice-Chairman) Councillor Dennis Anson Councillor Mrs. Doreen Shires

190/07 Apologies

There were no apologies submitted.

191/07 **Minutes**

Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting held on 19 March 2007, a copy having already been circulated to Members, be approved.

192/07 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

193/07 **Deputations and Petitions**

There were no deputations received or petitions submitted.

194/07 Late Items

There was one late item introduced by the Governance of Pupil Referral Unit. Please refer to Minute No. 197/07.

195/07 Local Government (Access to Information) Act, 1985 (as amended)

That the public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the item set out in the private part of the agenda for the reasons set out therein and by reason of Section 100A of the Local Government Act, 1972.

Non Executive Functions

196/07 Appointment of Local Education Authority (LEA) Governors

The report of the Governor Support Manager - Education Walsall was submitted:-

(see annexed)

Resolved

(1) That the persons identified below be nominated as representatives of the Local Education Authority for the schools as set out for the periods as stated:-

School	Name	Term of Office
Sandbank Nursery School	M.J. Abley	From 27 June, 2007 to 26 June, 2011
Beacon Primary School	Mr. S. Watkins	From 27 June, 2007 to 26 June, 2009
Brownhills West Primary School	M. Yates	From 27 June, 2007 to 26 June, 2011
Delves Junior School	J. Mowbray	From 27 June, 2007 to 26 June, 2011
Harden Primary School	Councillor I. Robertson	From 27 June, 2007 to 26 June, 2011
Alumwell Nursery School	Mrs. T. Timmins- Brownsword	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011
	Mrs. M. Hadley	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011

Fullbrook Nursery School	Mrs. Dutton	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011
	Mrs. Rathbone	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011
Rowley View Nursery School	Mrs. D. Silvester	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011
Valley Nursery School	Mrs. J. Dowen	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011
Greenfield Primary School	Councillor J. Phillips	From 4 September, 2007 to 3 September, 2011
Central Bentley Federation	Mr. N. Dodds	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011 (subject to the introduction of the Instrument of Government on 1 September, 2007)
	Mr. M. Lambert	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011 (subject to the introduction of the Instrument of Government on 1 September, 2007)
	Mrs. K. Hunt	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011 (subject to the introduction of the Instrument of Government on 1 September, 2007)
	Rev. S. Hough	From 1 September, 2007 to 31 August, 2011 (subject to the introduction of the Instrument of Government on 1 September, 2007)

(2) That the under-mentioned vacancies stand deferred:-

Pinfold Street J.M.I. School
Edgar Stammers School
St. John's C. of E. Primary School
The Radleys Primary School
Brownhills West Primary School
Brownhills Community Technology College
Watling Street Primary School
Beacon Primary School
Lodge Farm J.M.I. School
Whitehall Nursery and Infant School
Millfields Nursery School

197/07 Governance of Pupil Referral Unit

Further to Minute No. 194/07, the Panel were informed that it was anticipated that an Instrument of Government for the Management Committees for Pupil Referral Units (PRU's) was likely to come into effect from 1 September, 2007. In view of this, nominations were sought to serve as LA Management Members for the Management Committee for the Pupil Referral Units.

Resolved

That the names identified in the table below, or any subsequent change of membership as deemed necessary by the Governor Support Manager - Education Walsall, be agreed to serve as LA Management Members, subject to the Instrument of Government for the Management Committees for Pupil Referral Units being approved and also that Members are eligible to serve:-

School The Shepwell Green Centre PRU	Name Mrs. Jeeti Sidhu
The Ruiz Centre	Deborah Robinson
New Leaf Centre	Carol Knowles Julie Ingleby

Termination of Meeting

There being	no further business, the meeting terminated at 5.45 p.m
Chairman:	
Date:	