# Council - 8th January, 2024

## Formation of political groups

## 1. Summary of report

An Independent Group has been formed and the composition of the Labour Group has changed. This report clarifies the composition of political groups making up the Council and explains the political balance on Council Committees consistent with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended).

#### 2. Recommendations

That the Council notes the receipt of returns from the political groups.

## 3. Political Groups

3.1 Returns have been received in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations, 1990 (as amended) as follows:

#### (a) Conservative Group (37)

Group Leader: Councillor M. Bird Deputy Leader: Councillor A. Andrew

Councillor G. Ali Councillor B. Allen Councillor B. Bains Councillor S. Cooper Councillor S. Elson Councillor K. Ferguson Councillor G. Flint Councillor M. Follows Councillor N. Gandham Councillor A. Garcha Councillor P. Gill Councillor A. Harris Councillor L. Harrison Councillor A. Hicken Councillor A. Hussain Councillor I. Hussain Councillor P. Kaur Councillor R. Larden Councillor E. Lee

Councillor R. Martin Councillor K. Murphy

Councillor J. Murray
Councillor A. Parkes
Councillor K. Pedley
Councillor G. Perry
Councillor W. Rasab
Councillor L. Rattigan
Councillor K. Sears
Councillor G. S. Sohal
Councillor C. Statham
Councillor M. Statham
Councillor C. Towe
Councillor V. Waters
Councillor J. Whitehouse
Councillor T. Wilson

#### (b) **Labour Group** (12)

Group Leader: Councillor M. Ward Deputy Leader: Councillor T. Jukes

Councillor C. Bott
Councillor P. Bott
Councillor R. Burley
Councillor S. Cheema
Councillor C. Horton
Councillor S. Hussain
Councillor N. Latham
Councillor R. Mehmi
Councillor E. Morgan
Councillor A. Underhill

#### (c) Independent Group (9)

Group Leader: Councillor A. Nawaz
Deputy Leader: Councillor K. Hussain

Councillor N. Gultasib Councillor F. Hassan Councillor S. Nasreen Councillor H. Bashir Councillor A. Nazir Councillor S. Ditta Councillor P. Smith

# (d) Other Members (2)

The following members are not in a political group as described by the Local Government (Committee and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended).

Councillor Samra Councillor Worrall

#### **Ratio for allocation of Committee seats**

- 4. The allocation of Council Committee places must be made in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act, 1989. Achieving political balance is a complex process which requires a compromise to be made between sets of calculations. This can result in marginal differences which may be significant to Committee representation of individual political groups. The required "balance" has to be achieved by the Council allocating seats on individual Committees to properly constituted political groups based on the size of each group in relation to the size of the Council and so far as is reasonably practicable at the same time the total number of seats allocated to each group across all Committees must be in the same proportion.
- 5. These calculations are rarely exact, but in seeking to ensure that all political groups are dealt with fairly, this report implements the requirements of the relevant legislation.
- 6. The Council is open to legal challenge if it was thought not to have used its best endeavours to achieve "so far as reasonably practicable" a position where the allocation of seats reflects the political make-up of the Council. The final decision necessary to achieve political balance lies with the Council and officers have worked to bring forward to Council clear recommendations to achieve the intentions of the legislation.
- 7. On the basis of the political groups the allocation of seats on Committees must be calculated in the ratio of 37: 12: 9: 2 reflecting the size of the groups on the Council.
- 8. The declared political groups have been asked for nominations to the allocated places in accordance with their numerical strength as recorded in their returns to the Chief Executive.

#### **Background papers**

Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended) Papers returned by Group Leaders to the Chief Executive May, November and December, 2023.

Signed:

Chief Executive

Date: 8th January, 2024

Anne Buet