WALSALL METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL

REPORT OF THE GOVERNOR SUPPORT MANAGER – EDUCATION WALSALL

L.E.A. GOVERNOR APPOINTMENT PANEL

19th March 2007

Appointment of LA Governors

1. Purpose

The purpose of this report is to request that the Panel appoint LA Governors to the named Governing Bodies.

2. Recommendations

The Panel is asked to appoint LA Governors to the named Governing Bodies for a four year period (unless otherwise stated).

Explanatory Notes

In the context of the miscellaneous provisions of the Education Inspections Bill future appointments will be as Local Authority not Local Education Authority Governors.

*An asterisk indicates that a letter regarding the nomination has been received from the school. This has been circulated for consideration to the three political spokespersons for the Panel.

3. Governing Bodies requiring LA Governors

(1) St. Mary of the Angels Catholic Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Aldridge Central and South Ward).

This arises because Mr. P. Welton has resigned. This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on 14.2.2006, 3.4.2006, 28.6.2006, 26.9.2006, 7.11.2006, 20.12.2006 and 31.1.2007.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

None.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(2) Pinfold Street J.M.I. School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Darlaston South Ward)

This arises because Mr. J. Easthill has resigned.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **26.9.2006**, **7.11.2006**, **20.12.2006** and **31.1.2007**.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Mr. M. Davies and Miss P. Chauhan.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(3) Edgar Stammers Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Blakenall Ward)

This arises because Mrs. C. Stokes, appointed at your meeting on 28th June 2006, notified Officers that she does not wish to take up the appointment.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **26.9.2006**, **7.11.2006**, **20.12.2006** and **31.1.2007**.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Mrs. A. Brindley, Mrs. H. Gelsthorpe-Smith and Mrs. J. Stanley.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(4) Sandbank Nursery School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Bloxwich West Ward)

This arises because Mr. T. Smart has resigned.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **26.9.2006**, **7.11.2006**, **20.12.2006** and **31.1.2007**.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Mrs. L. Myatt.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(5) St. John's C. of E. Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Aldridge North and Walsall Wood Ward)

This arises because Mr. J. Humphreys has resigned.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **26.9.2006**, **7.11.2006**, **20.12.2006** and **31.1.2007**.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

None.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(6) King Charles Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Bentley and Darlaston North Ward)

This arises because Mr. G. Withey has resigned.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **7.11.2006**, **20.12.2006** and **31.1.2007**.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Mrs. G. Tonks.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(7) St. Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Blakenall Ward)

This arises because Councillor A. Young has resigned.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **20.12.2006 and 31.1.2007**

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

None.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(8) The Radleys Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Rushall-Shelfield Ward)

This arises because Mr. A. Singh has resigned.

This was deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meetings held on **20.12.2006 and 31.1.2007.**

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Councillor R. Walker.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(9) Brownhills West Primary School requires the appointment of Two LA Governors. (Brownhills Ward)

The new Instrument of Government for this Governing Body came into force on 1.1.2007 and provides for 3 L.A. Governors.

The term of office of Mrs. J. Ankrett, Mr. J. Bird and Mr. W. Brighton ceased on 31.12.2006.

These were deferred at the L.E.A. Appointment Panel meeting held on 20.12.2006.

One appointment was made and Two were deferred on 31.1.2007

These **Two** appointments are for 4 years the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Ms. V. Aston.

There are two vacancies for LA Governors.

- *A letter from the Clerk to the Governors has been received stating that Mr. J. Bird and Mr, W. Brighton **do not** wish to be re-considered for these positions.
- *A letter from the Clerk to the Governors has been received requesting the Panel to consider a change of membership for Mrs. J. Ankrett due to her non-attendance at meetings.

(10) Beacon Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Willenhall North Ward)

This arises because Ms. S. Peters has not attended any meetings of the Governing Body during the last six months. The Panel is reminded that a Governor who has been disqualified for non-attendance may not be re-appointed as an LA Governor for 12 months.

This appointment is for **2** years from the date of appointment

Current LA Governors are:

Councillor A. Bentley and Mr. S. Watkins.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(11) Brownhills Community Technology College requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Brownhills Ward)

This arises because Mrs. F. Birch has resigned.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Councillor A. Paul, Mrs. L. Stanistreet and Mrs. J. Cocken.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

(12) Rough Hay Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Darlaston South Ward)

This arises because Mrs. M. Morgan has resigned.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Mr. A. Roberts.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

*A letter from the Clerk to the Governors has been received requesting the Panel to consider appointing Mrs. J. Furbur to this position.

(13) St. Patrick's Catholic Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Birchills Leamore Ward)

This arises because Mrs. C. Rose has not attended any meetings of the Governing Body during the last six months. The Panel is reminded that a Governor who has been disqualified for non-attendance may not be re-appointed as an LA Governor for 12 months.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment

Current LA Governors are:

None.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

*A letter from the Headteacher has been received requesting the Panel to consider appointing Mrs. C. Tolley to this position. Also letter from Mrs. Tolley expressing her wish to be considered.

(14) Watling Street Primary School requires the appointment of an LA Governor. (Brownhills Ward)

This arises because Mr. J. Bird has resigned.

This appointment is for 4 years from the date of appointment.

Current LA Governors are:

Councillor D. Turner and Mrs. K. Rowe.

There is one vacancy for an LA Governor.

Report prepared by Education Walsall – Governor Support and Development Team - PH/8.3.2007.