# LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, 30<sup>th</sup> May, 2007 at 6.00 p.m.

# In a Conference Room at the Council House, Walsall

### Present

Councillor Keith Sears (Chairman)
Councillor Bill Tweddle (Vice-Chairman)
Councillor Dennis Anson
Councillor Joan Beilby
Councillor Mike Bird
Councillor John Rochelle
Councillor Graham Wilkes

# 1094/07 Apologies

Apologies for non-attendance were submitted on behalf of Councillors Joan Barton, Leslie Beeley, Barbara Cassidy, Peter Hughes, Cath Micklewright and Peter Smith.

### 1095/07 **Minutes**

### Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting held on 18<sup>th</sup> April, 2007, a copy having previously been circulated to each Member of the Committee, be approved and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

### 1096/07 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

## 1097/07 Local Government (Access to Information) Act, 1985 (as amended)

There were no items for consideration in the private session of the agenda.

## 1098/07 Taxi Matters

## (a) Taxi/Private Hire Liaison Group

The report of the Head of Public Protection was submitted:-

(see annexed)

#### Resolved

That the report be noted and that the Taxi/Private Hire Liaison Group be re-established in accordance with the Terms of Reference appended to the report with the following membership:-

Councillor Keith Sears (Chairman)
Councillor Mike Bird
Councillor Cath Micklewright
Councillor John Rochelle
Councillor Graham Wilkes

# (b) Establishment of Taxi Licensing Sub-Committees

The report of the Assistant Director, Legal and Constitutional Services was submitted:-

(see annexed)

#### Resolved

- (i) That approval be given to the re-establishment of Taxi Licensing Sub-Committees A and B to deal with the continuing backlog of applications under Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 1976, the Sub-Committees to be politically balanced and to each comprise seven Members of the Licensing and Safety Committee. One of the Sub-Committees to meet during the daytime and the other in the evening;
- (ii) That consequent on the above, the membership of the Sub-Committees be as follows:-

Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee A (to meet at 10.00 a.m.)

Councillor Bill Tweddle (Chairman)
Councillor Joan Barton
Councillor Joan Beilby
Councillor Barbara Cassidy
Councillor Cath Micklewright
Councillor John Rochelle
Councillor Peter Smith

(**Note**: Councillor Peter Smith subsequently declined his membership. His place was subsequently offered to and accepted by Councillor P. Hughes)

Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee B (to meet at 6.00 p.m.)

Councillor Keith Sears (Chairman)
Councillor Dennis Anson
Councillor Leslie Beeley
Councillor Joan Beilby
Councillor Mike Bird
Councillor Peter Hughes
Councillor Graham Wilkes

(iii) That meetings of the Sub-Committees be convened as follows:-

Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee B - Thursday, 14<sup>th</sup> June, 2007 at 6.00 p.m.

Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee A - Monday, 18<sup>th</sup> June, 2007 at 10.00 a.m.

# (c) Appeals against Committee decisions

The report of the Head of Public Protection was submitted:-

(see annexed)

### Resolved

That the report be noted.

## 1099/07 Licensing Act, 2003 - Licensing Sub-Committees

The report of the Assistant Director, Legal and Constitutional Services was submitted:-

(see annexed)

#### Resolved

- (i) That the report be noted;
- (ii) That approval be given to the re-establishment of the Licensing Sub-Committees in accordance with Section 9 of the Licensing Act, 2003, solely to determine applications under that legislation. The Sub-Committees to comprise three Members of the Licensing and Safety Committee on a rota basis, subject to availability;
- (iii) That it be noted that training for both Members and officers will be provided in the near future in respect of the Licensing Act, 2003, the Gambling Act, 2005 and consideration of hackney carriage and private hire applications under the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 1976.

<b>Termination</b>	of Meeting
--------------------	------------

Chairman	
Date	

The meeting terminated at 6.14 p.m.