# Adjourned Council – 23rd May 2007

## Formation of political groups

#### Summary of report

This report informs the Council of the composition of political groups making up the Council. The report explains the political balance on Council Committees consistent with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended).

#### Recommendations

That the Council notes the receipt of returns from political groups.

#### **Political Groups**

- Returns have been received in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations, 1990 (as amended) as follows:-
  - (a) **Conservative Group** (33)

Group Leader:	Councillor J.G. O'Hare
Deputy Leader:	Councillor A. Andrew

Councillor M. Ahmed Councillor Zahid Ali Councillor T.G. Ansell Councillor M. Arif Councillor C. Ault Councillor L.A. Beeley Councillor J. Beilby Councillor M.A. Bird Councillor G. Clarke Councillor B.A. Douglas-Maul Councillor M. Flower Councillor A.E. Griffiths Councillor A.D. Harris Councillor L.A. Harrison Councillor E.F. Hughes Councillor M. Longhi Councillor R.A. Martin Councillor B.V. McCracken Councillor C. Micklewright

Councillor A.J. Paul Councillor G. Perry Councillor D.J. Pitt Councillor M.G. Pitt Councillor J. Rochelle Councillor B. Sanders Councillor K. Sears Councillor C.D.D. Towe Councillor D.J. Turner Councillor W.T. Tweddle Councillor R.E. Walker Councillor M. Yasin

## (b) Liberal Democrat Group (6)

Group Leader:	Councillor I. Shires
Deputy Leader:	Councillor Mrs. E.E. Pitt

Councillor J.R. Cook Councillor P. Hughes Councillor D.A. Shires Councillor V. Woodruff

2. In accordance with the Regulations, as no return has been received from the Labour Group, the latest return received has been regarded as the membership of the group as follows:-

#### Labour Group (18)

Group Leader:	Councillor T.S. Oliver
Deputy Leader:	Councillor S.P. Coughlan
Deputy Leader:	Councillor D.A. Anson Councillor J.M. Barton Councillor B. Cassidy Councillor K. Chambers Councillor C.U. Creaney Councillor A. D. Johnson Councillor H. Khan Councillor S.W. Madeley Councillor M. Nazir
	Councillor J.D. Phillips Councillor K. Phillips
	Councillor I.S. Robertson Councillor H.S. Sarohi
	Councillor A. Underhill
	Councillor G.E. Wilkes
	Councillor P.A. Young

3. Councillors C. Bott, P. Bott and Smith do not belong to any political group on the Council.

## Ratio for allocation of Committee seats

- 4. The allocation of Council Committee places must be made in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act, 1989. Achieving political balance is a complex process which requires a compromise to be made between sets of calculations. This can result in marginal differences which may be significant to Committee representation of individual political groups. The required "balance" has to be achieved by the Council allocating seats on individual Committees to properly constituted political groups based on the size of each group in relation to the size of the Council and so far as is reasonably practicable at the same time the total number of seats allocated to each group across all Committees must be in the same proportion.
- 5. These calculations are rarely exact, but in seeking to ensure that all political groups are dealt with fairly, this report implements the requirements of the relevant legislation.
- 6. The Council is open to legal challenge if it was thought not to have used its best endeavours to achieve "so far as reasonably practicable" a position where the allocation of seats reflects the political make-up of the Council. The final decision necessary to achieve political balance lies with the Council and officers have worked to bring forward to Council clear recommendations to achieve the intentions of the legislation.
- 7. On the basis of the political groups the allocation of seats on Committees must be calculated in the ratio of 33: 18: 6: 1: 1: 1: reflecting the size of the groups on the Council.
- 8. The declared political groups have been asked for nominations to the allocated places in accordance with their numerical strength as recorded in their returns to the Chief Executive.

## Background papers

Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended) Papers returned by Group Leaders to the Chief Executive May 2006.

Signed:

Interim Chief Executive

Date: 23rd May 2007