SCHOOLS FORUM MEMBERSHIP

TERMS OF OFFICE

1.0 Purpose of Report

1.1 To seek the Forums view on varying the terms of office of members.

2.0 Recommendation

2.1 The Forum is asked to consider the suggestion at Paragraph 4.3 below and, if appropriate, identify which primary and secondary head teachers and primary and secondary governors should have their terms of office extended.

3.0 <u>Background</u>

- 3.1 The revised Constitution, agreed by the Forum on 13th June, 2006, states that the period of office for head teachers, governors and non-school members will be for a period of 4 years from 1st April, 2006.
- 3.2 The Constitution also contains a provision that the period of office was to be staggered to maintain continuity of experienced Forum members.
- 3.3 To my knowledge, this provision has never been invoked with the result that the term of office of <u>all</u> members will expire on 31st March, 2010.

4.0 Conclusion

- 4.1 To rectify this anomaly and to maintain continuity of experienced Forum members, consideration could be given to extending the terms of office of some members.
- 4.2 To assist the Forum in this exercise, a list of current members and their area of representation is attached.

- 4.3 It is suggested that consideration be given to extending terms of office until 31st March, 2011 as follows:-
 - 2 Primary Head Teachers (to be identified)
 - 2 Secondary Head Teachers
 - 1 Special School Head Teacher
 - 1 Nursery Head Teacher
 - 1 Early Years Development Childcare Partnership
 - 2 Primary Governors (to be identified)
 - 2 Secondary Governors (to be identified)
 - 1 Catholic Diocese
 - 1 Staff Side Representative
- 4.4 The term of office of the remaining members would expire on 31st March, 2010 as identified in the Constitution. Members should note that 2 of these, namely a special school governor and Church of England Diocese representative, are currently vacant.
- 4.5 The procedure for seeking nominations for the membership referred to in Paragraph 4.4 would be commenced towards the end of the 2009 calendar year to allow sufficient time for elections to be held, should they be necessary.

SCHOOLS FORUM

MEMBERSHIP

Mr. P. Heath Primary Head Teacher, Blakenall Heath Junior

Mr. A.F. Cheminais Primary Head Teacher, Rushall JMI

Mr. J. Baker Primary Head Teacher, Lower Farm Primary
Mrs. E. Maher Primary Head Teacher, Bentley Drive Primary
Mr. S. Holtam Secondary Head Teacher, Queen Mary's Grammar

Mr. G. Crowther Secondary Head Teacher, Shire Oak Miss S.M. Bradford Secondary Head Teacher, Alumwell Mr. J.P. Clarke Secondary Head Teacher, Pool Hayes

Ms. H. Lomas Special School Head Teacher, Jane Lane Special

Mrs. E. Stringer
Mrs. R. Poyser
Mr. M. Lee
Nursery Head Teacher, Fullbrook Nursery
Early Years Development Childcare Partnership
Primary Co-opted Governor, Bentley West Primary

Mr. A. Davies
Primary Governor, Busill Jones Primary
Mr G. Deakin
Primary Governor, Park Hall Infants
Mr. E. Gee
Primary Governor, Alumwell Junior
Mr. M. Barton
Secondary Governor, Frank F. Harrison

Mr. N.J. Chomyk (Chairman) Secondary Governor, Queen Mary's Grammar

Mr. F. Hodgkinson Secondary School Governor, Brownhills Comm, Tech

College

Mr M Sweeney Secondary School Governor, Joseph Leckie Comm Tech

College

Vacancy Special School Governor

Vacancy C. of E. Diocese Mr. S. Haywood Catholic Diocese

Mrs. M. Letts Staffside Associations Representative

Mrs. K. Delaney PVI Representative