LEA GOVERNOR APPOINTMENT PANEL

Wednesday, 6 April, 2005 at 5.30 p.m.

In a Conference Room at the Council House, Walsall

Present

Councillor Mohammad Yasin (Chairman) Councillor Christopher Towe (Vice-Chairman) Councillor Harbans Sarohi Councillor Mrs. Doreen Shires

97/05 Change in Membership

The Panel noted the under-mentioned change in membership for the duration of the meeting:-

Delete: Councillor Kath Phillips
Substitute: Councillor Harbans Sarohi

98/05 **Apology**

An apology for non-attendance at the meeting was submitted on behalf of Councillor Rachel Walker.

99/05 **Minutes**

Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting held on 24 February 2005, copies having already been circulated to members be approved.

100/05 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

101/05 **Deputations and Petitions**

There were no deputations received or petitions submitted.

102/05 Late Items

There were no late items introduced by the Chairman.

103/05 Local Government (Access to Information) Act, 1985

There were no items on the agenda for the meeting in respect of which the Committee considered that publicity would be prejudicial to the public interest by reason of the confidential nature of the business.

Non Executive Functions

104/05 Little Bloxwich C of E (VC) Primary School

A report was submitted:-

(see annexed)

Resolved

That the report be noted.

105/05 Appointment of Local Education Authority (LEA) Governors

The report of the Executive Director for Lifelong Learning and Community Development was submitted:

(see annexed)

Resolved

(1) That the persons identified below be nominated as representatives of the Local Education Authority for the schools set out for the periods stated:-

School	<u>Name</u>	Term of Office					
Little Bloxwich C of E (VC) Primary School	Councillor Ms. K. Phillips	From 6 April 2005, to 5 April 2009					
Blackwood School	(1) Mrs. S. Stone	From 11 April 2005, to 10 April 2009					
	(2) Mr. J. Meason	From 11 April 2005, to 10 April 2009					
	(3) Mr. R. Sugden	From 11 April 2005, to 20 April 2009					
Castlefort JMI School	Councillor K. Sears	From 21 June 2005, to 20 June 2009					
Greenfield Primary School	Mrs. M. Hayes	From 21 June 2005, to 20 June 2009					
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Technology College	Mr. I. Milne	From 1 June 2005, to 31 May 2009					
St. Mary's the Mount Catholic Primary School	Mr. J. Nelson	From 1 June 2005, to 31 May 2009					

(2) That the under-mentioned vacancies stand deferred:-

St. John's C of E Primary School Jane Lane School St. Francis Catholic Primary School Millfield Primary School St. Joseph's Catholic School

(3) That, as a result of a request from the Clerk to the Governors, the vacancy remain unfilled at the under-mentioned school:-

Moxley Nursery and Infant School

Termination of Meeting

There being no further business, the meeting terminated at 5.35 p.m.

Chairma	n:	 							
Date:		 							